To be certified kosher, maple syrup must comply with Jewish dietary laws. To this end, a rigorous production process is implemented, and all steps and equipment are inspected by a rabbi.
Kosher certification is managed by the Jewish community
All maple syrup producers with kosher certification must have their sugar bush and production facilities inspected by a rabbi, who verifies that everything coming into contact with the syrup is also certified kosher:
- Soap used to wash machinery
- Additives used to stabilize the foam during boiling
Duration of kosher certification
The inspection process to obtain kosher certification on maple syrup last one to two weeks on average, and must be repeated every year.